Wednesday, January 13, 2016

Snack Time Reviews ~ Lady Thieves, Small Town Feuds, & Accidental Marriages?!

snacktimewithnelle




Join me for some mini-reviews!



[space size=5]

[book-info]

 [space size=10]


Charlotte "Lottie" Walker is a lady thief. Owen Renderwell is the Scotland Yard Detective who fell in love with her while forcibly enlisting her father's help to bring down a criminal.
Poor Lottie fell for him too but felt betrayed when he took all the accolades from the kidnapping rescue that her father died to accomplish. [br]
Secrets to misunderstandings abound in this story. Owen needs Lottie's help in cracking a code a murderer leaves behind. Their chemistry is tangible but their distance is clear. I enjoyed trying to figure out who the murderer was and the second chance romance was sweet.

  [space size=5]

 



Synopsis


 

The Lady is a Thief

Years ago, Owen Renderwell earned acclaim—and a title—for the dashing rescue of a kidnapped duchess. But only a select few knew that Scotland Yard’s most famous detective was working alongside London’s most infamous thief…and his criminally brilliant daughter, Charlotte Walker.

Lottie was like no other woman in Victorian England. She challenged him. She dazzled him. She questioned everything he believed and everything he was, and he has never wanted anyone more. And then he lost her.

Now a private detective on the trail of a murderer, Owen has stormed back into Lottie’s life. She knows that no matter what they may pretend, he will always be a man of the law and she a criminal. Yet whenever he’s near, Owen has a way of making things complicated…and long for a future that can never be theirs.

 

[space size=15][divider]
[book-info number="1"]

 [space size=10]


I'm afraid for this one I should've said no! See what I did there? Ha Ha! No, but really, this was touted to be for Susan Mallery fan's and since I like small-town romance, I grabbed it.

Sigh, It started off good! The meet up was really sexy! The romance though fell by the wayside and competed with the small-town family feud. They both kept secrets from each other and Carden was sent by his Mama to spy and manipulate Lindsey. Dirty just Dirty. :( When the reason for the feud came out, Lindsey and Carden didn't resolve their difference for a month afterward!

  [space size=5]

 



Synopsis


 

Welcome to Thistle Bend! Perfect for fans of Susan Mallery, this charming series debut introduces a small town where old secrets are revealed—and wounded hearts are opened to new love.

A year after being laid off from the Smithsonian, Lindsey Simms says yes to a job offer as curator of a heritage museum in Thistle Bend, Colorado (population 1,519). It could be worse—and it is. Because the new museum has escalated a dispute between the Karlssons, Lindsey’s relatives, and the Crenshaws, a blood feud which goes way back to a land deal that changed the fortunes of both families. Trying to stay objective, Lindsey can’t tell anyone about her conflict of interest—especially not the ruggedly handsome handyman fixing up her cabin, who seems to be keeping secrets of his own.

Although he’s the executive director of the family trust and one of Colorado’s most eligible bachelors, Carden Crenshaw prefers getting his hands dirty in town and on his sprawling ranch. Staying busy has given him an excuse not to risk heartbreak, but getting to know the beautiful “museum lady” makes him reconsider. Little does he know, the heat between them will only add fuel to the fire—unless this unlikely couple can prove they’re lovers, not fighters.

 

[space size=15][divider]
[book-info number="2"]

 [space size=10]


Accidental Marriage? I though cool!! They'd only known each other a few days, there wasn't much romance to be had before the "accidental marriage" and really he couldn't tell her about the marriage and legality of it because... it would ruin her reputation??!! Sigh. Lady Sarah seemed immature and Braeden seemed like a jerk. After they reconciled to being married he expected her to drop whatever she was doing and go with him on this highly anticipated expedition of his. I just couldn't connect to the characters. It looks like this might have been the end of the series and it was my first Callie Hutton novel. I've seen others rave about this one so, don't take my negative reaction as gospel, try it out for yourself if you like this type of book.
  [space size=5]

 



Synopsis


 

She never intended to take a husband...

Scotland, 1817

The Duke of Manchester's sister, Lady Sarah Lacey, always abides by the rules of etiquette. Fate, however, has no such confines. On a journey to the Scottish Highlands, Lady Sarah is set upon by misfortune-leaving her without carriage or chaperone, and left to the mercy of a kind and handsome gentleman. Whom (in order to secure a room at an inn) she announces is her husband.

When she proclaims they're married in public, Professor Braeden McKinnon can't bring himself to correct the lovely Lady Sarah. After all, her reputation would be ruined. Nor can he tell her that her proclamation is not only legally binding in Scotland, but sharing a room is considered to be an act of consummation...

Now they are bound together until death do they part-even if Sarah has no intention of becoming any man's wife.

 

[space size=15]

[divider]

[about-author]